Apply Now
Research Advisor

Dr. M. Ramamoorty, Ph.D

Research Advisor

Dr. Mylavarapu Ramamoorty obtained his BE (Hons) from Andhra University in 1957 and ME from IISc Bangalore in 1959. He obtained his MASC and Ph.D. from Toronto University in 1965 and 1967 respectively. He was a Common Wealth Fellow at Toronto University from 1964 to 1967. On returning to India, he joined IIT, Kanpur as a faculty member in the Electrical Engineering Department, where he became Professor in 1972. He established for the first time in India a graduate program in Power Electronics at IIT, Kanpur in the year 1968. He has supervised more than 12 Doctoral projects during this period and was associated with many sponsored research activities for industries like BHEL and Hindustan Steel Ltd. In 1977 he joined M/S Hindustan Brown Boveri Ltd. (now M/S ABB) as Chief of Research. He was responsible for the development of a number of prototypes in switchgear, relays and instrumentation. He joined the Central Power Research Institute as its first Director General in 1983. He retired from service in 1994. During his tenure, CPRI became a well-recognised research and testing laboratory in the power sector.

Dr. Ramamoorty took over as Director, ERDA in June 1995 and demitted his office as Director on 31st October 2006 after completion of his contract period. Dr. Ramamoorty took over as Advisor ERDA from 1st November 2006.

He worked as a Visiting Professor in a number of Universities in India and abroad, which include IIT Kanpur, University of Sydney, Washington State University, Worcestor Polytechnic Institute, University of British Columbia and many others.

Awards Recived
Sno Awards
1 Bimal bose Award-1984-IETE(India)
2 Vasvik Award-1986-Vasvik Committee, Mumbai
3 Jawaharlal Nehru Birth centenary Award-1988-Central Board of Irrigation and Power-New Delhi
4 National Power Systems Conference Award-1990-IIT Mumbai
5 National Design Award-1991-IE(India) India
6 Distinguished Alumnus Award-1996-I.I.Sc Bangalore
7 Visvesvaraiah Memorial Award-2000-Engineering Foundation
8 Hari Om Prerit Lecture Award-2006-SPRERI, Ahmedabad
9 Life Time Achievement Award-2006-University of Rourkee, Rourkee
10 Life Time Achievement Award by IEEMA-2011
11 Madan Mohan Malavya Award-2012
12 Madan Mohan Malavya Award for Excellence in Power Systems Research -2012
1 Guided 22 PhD Projects
2 Authored 7 Books on Thyristors, CAD of Machines, Reactive Power, Power System Protection, Electrical Machines and Hydro Power Generation
3 Published and presented more than 200 Technical Papers
4 Obtained 4 Patents and four more are under scrutiny by the Patent Office
5 Responsible for the growth of two major Research and Testing Laboratories,CPRI and ERDA in the country
Present activities
1 Consultant to M/S ABB Ltd., M/S CG Ltd., EMCO Ltd to advice the concerned officers on projects related to Power System Operation, Power Electronics Drive Systems
2 Guiding Ph.D and M.Tech students in Electrical Departments of Osmania University, VNR VJIET, ESCI, IIIT Hyderabad, CPRI Hyderabad and K L E F
3 Nominee of the President of India on the selection committee for Professors at IIT, Kanpur
4 Member of the International Advisory Board on Technology for EMCO Ltd.